Zucchini Jam with a Fried Egg: Breakfast of Champions

21 Jun

Final1

A few years ago I was in search of something hearty, comforting, and grilled-cheesey. I found all that and more in this recipe from one of my favorites, Big Girls Small Kitchen

{ Golden Zucchini Sandwich – Big Girls Small Kitchen }

While that recipe is just divine, it’s not what I’m going to be talking about. There is a part of this recipe that literally blew my mind, and has now become a staple in my kitchen anytime I need something cheap/healthy/tasty/light/heavy/warm/cold/dark/light/you get it right? It’s just an all-around satisfying item. Zucchini “jam”.

This is literally one of the easiest things you can make, and it’s SO good on it’s own, with eggs, in a sandwich (such as grilled cheese…), whatevs. So here, today, I’d like to share the easiest, tastiest thing you can make with 3(ish) ingredients, and 20 minutes.

You’ll need: garlic, olive oil, zucchini (+and fresh herbs you may have lying around, dill and basil work really well here).

Thinly slice your garlic, I used 3 cloves (think Italian mafia guys in prison slicing garlic with a razor blade)

Garlic

Heat about 1 Tbs olive oil in a pan over medium heat (if you’ve got a 1-10 heating knob on your stove, I’d got with about a 4-5), and add garlic. While this is happening, grate your zucchini, I used 4 small…and don’t worry about holding your camera steady, people like a blurry picture

Grate

Add the zucchini to the now kind-of-golden garlic

ZucchiniPan

Give a heavy-handed sprinkle of salt and a few grinds of fresh pepper, and stir. Now walk away. Do it!

Over the next 15-20 minutes, exercise all the strength you have to only go over and give it a stir about 3 times. This gets the zucchini nice and caramely, and reduces it down to a nice, jam-like consistency. A few times when you go over you’ll see a lot of liquid released…DON’T PANIC! It’ll cook away.

Let’s make this interesting and add a fried egg.

Egg

Now add some freshly chopped herbs to your jam-like zucchini, I used dill

ZucchiniAfter

Now marry the two and add some hot sauce, because variety is the spice of life, my friends.

Final

Oh yeah, my yolk popped while I wasn’t looking, so that’s why it looks like whatever that is. This is just a delightful meal, and the best way to start any day.

Zucchini “Jam” Adapted from Big Girls Small Kitchen

  • 3 Cloves Garlic
  • 1 Tbs Olive Oil
  • 4 Small or 2 Medium Zucchini
  • 2 Tbs Fresh Dill
  • 1 Fried Egg (yolk preferably runny)
  1. Heat oil over medium heat. Thinly slice garlic and add to oil to brown slightly.
  2. Grate zucchini, add to garlic. Let sit for 15-20 minutes, stir 3-4 times. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  3. Once zucchini is cooked through take off heat, and stir in freshly chopped herbs.
  4. Top with fried egg.
5 Responses to “Zucchini Jam with a Fried Egg: Breakfast of Champions”

  1. the winegetter June 21, 2013 at 10:30 pm #

    OMG, that looks and sounds divine. I had never heard of zucchini jam! I make my own onion jam, to go with cheeses, but this will be tried out as soon as we’re back from the wilderness…I better set a bookmark, cause who knows what I remember when we’re finally back…

    • thefoodandwinehedonist June 22, 2013 at 2:53 am #

      Oh yeah, I’m making this over the weekend! With the move I haven’t cooked in a while and I have a huge hankering for eggs

      • the winegetter June 22, 2013 at 3:13 am #

        Oh, wanna have us for that, John???

  2. wanderingglutton June 24, 2013 at 1:40 pm #

    This makes me wish I had planted zucchini in my garden. I will definitely have to buy some and try this one. Imagining the flavor of runny egg yolk combining with the jam is making my mouth water. Thanks for sharing.

  3. thefoodandwinehedonist July 24, 2013 at 5:58 pm #

    FINALLY, got around to making this… Posted on my FB page for #WIAW!

Leave a Reply

ful-filled

real food - true health - full life

Tiny Portal

Awkwardly walking through life's little doors

Things that we like

Beer. Sports. Food.

Modern Day Forager

All Roads Lead to Food

Reading Runner Girl

Reading. Running. & Other Things.

Aerogramme Writers' Studio

Books and Writing | News and Resources

The Tomato Tart

But check your lease, man. Because you're living in Flavor Country.

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

