A Song of Berries & Nice: Pt 1

5 Jun

 

Salad

Tis the season, my friends. Produce aisles are brighter, more opulent, and brimming with tasty little gems. I’m going to consume all of it.

New Entering Flavor Country Strawberries

Sidenote: I have recently gone through somewhat of a drastic work change (long story), but I’m in essence working two jobs, both marketing related, both food related, and I have the pleasure of having at least one “home office” day. These are the best days of all my friends. I’ve opted to go Ann Arbor coffee shop exploring by choosing a different location each week to do my work from. The only downside is about an hour into work when that coffee and [whatever type of pastry said coffee shop offers] runs through your system, you need to use the facilities and your computer is all sorts of hooked up. Stranded. The first time I asked the barista to “keep an eye on my stuff” while I ran off, only to come back to see her no where near my stuff. The second time I opted to just wait….the full 4 hours…until I was done. The upside to this approach is that the payoff is immense, if ya know what I mean. But back to food. I was doing my “home office” work at Babo last week (they gave me a free yogurt sample, it was delightful), and during my walk back home for lunch I decided to stop in Literati, the new book store on Washington. That place is dangerous….I could spend a LOT of time and money there. They have a great selection, and a few of the books have hand written reviews and notes about them, which of course made me want to buy all of them. After having this sequence happen in my mental shopping cart–no books, 4 books, 2 books, 6 books, 1 book, no books–I decided to pick up the newest Bon Appetit and come back when I didn’t have 2 books on deck at home. I ATE up this issue. I have about 10 recipes dog-eared to make (I’ve already made about 4 of them) and whoever is doing their layouts (kissing fingertips), très magnifique. Which brings me to…

Strawberries! Yvette Van Boven (of one of my favorite cookbooks Home Made) has a special spread in this issue with about a half dozen recipes centered around strawberries, complete with beautiful photography and creative illustrations (done by the Chef herself….I think she just made my list of people “dead of alive” I need to meet). I chose 2 of her recipes, along with an additional mini-recipe featured in the front of the magazine to create quite the day of culinary delights. The second recipe of hers will be featured in the next post, so consider this a cliffhanger (I’m not going to post the recipes here because I’m already getting long winded, so feel free to click on the links to follow along):

Green. Bean. Slaw. Where do I sign up? Green Beans are an under appreciated workhorse in my opinion. They’re the go-to for restaurants to accompany meat and potatoes, or as a french fry swap out. Sadly, they’re often slathered in too much butter or oil, or over cooked to a sad mushy side. Don’t get me wrong, a nice soft melt-in-your-mouth green bean is alway appreciated while incorporated into a great casserole, but while on it’s own I like the vegetable to sing, to snap, to still have a semblance of it’s original self. This slaw not only offers a stage for the Green Bean to really belt it out, but it also brings along it’s friends radish, onion, and olive (how selfless, Green Bean).

First, prepare a mixture of feta, lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper as your slaw binder (yes, it looks like cottage cheese)

Feta

Slice up your veggies

Greenbeans Radish

Add them to the feta mixture

Slaw

Toast some bread, and put heaping spoonfuls on it (I’m talking’ spill over, messy plate amounts)

Sandwich_Slaw

Top with some hard boiled egg slices (I like a good 6-7 minute egg, with the yolk still gooey, john is a fan of the 8-9 minute egg, with the yolk solid. Will we ever be able to make this relationship work?)

Sandwich_Egg

Now put that other piece of bread on top and set aside while you prepare your salad

Sandwich_Complete

For the salad, I was originally going to shell the peas, but look how many 10 pods (and 3 minutes of effort) produced

PeaShelled

So I went a different route

PeaCut

Now all you do it layer arugula, sliced strawberries, and almonds on a plate. Top with freshly grated parmesan, and a delightful vinaigrette that you just whipped up (oil, vinegar, sugar, whole gran mustard, poppy seeds. Classic.)

Salad

Select a delightful beverage to accompany your fresh FRESH and delicious lunch (we opted for 3 Floyds Jinx Proof and 3 Floyds Robert the Bruce because an afternoon of slicing and dicing can work up an appetite for a good beer)

Meal

Meal1

Now dig in.

Salad_Eat

This meal continued with a delightful Strawberry-centric dessert, which will be featured in the next post, so say tuned!

Also…I apologize for the lame attempt to name this post in a Game of Thrones-esque manner. 

Leave a Reply

ful-filled

real food - true health - full life

Tiny Portal

Awkwardly walking through life's little doors

Things that we like

Beer. Sports. Food.

Modern Day Forager

All Roads Lead to Food

Reading Runner Girl

Reading. Running. & Other Things.

Aerogramme Writers' Studio

Books and Writing I News and Resources

The Tomato Tart

But check your lease, man. Because you're living in Flavor Country.

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

