Chicken and Asparagus with Green Goddess Dressing

15 May

The first time I had Green Goddess dressing it was a vinaigrette with an olive oil base. Seeing as this was the first time I was trying it, I assumed no further investigation needed to take place as far as how authentic what I was putting into my mouth was. I noticed items adorned with Green Goddess dressing a few times after with a creamy version of this herby sauce. Well I guess that’s a way you can present it, if you want to muddy the waters I thought. After a few years of seeing this repeated offense, and coming across a tasty-looking recipe for a Green Goddess Chicken and Asparagus Salad this past weekend, a thought creeped into my head that stopped me dead in my tracks: what if I was the one who was wrong, and not society. It couldn’t be. Finally, after exhaustive research (read: a quick trip to wikipedia) I was hit with the harsh truth: Green Goddess Dressing is a cream-based sauce. I was operating under false pretenses for years. I had no choice but to man up, and follow the crowd.

[ That was a Dramatic Reenactment for entertainment purposes, certain liberties were taken for exciting embellishment ]

Asparagus

So guess what? It’s asparagus season! I was about to barrel into a story about how I don’t smell Asparagus pee, but guess what, I’ve already talked about it. I am charming. This time of year I try to eat AT LEAST a solid pound of Asparagus a week because it’s delicious, it’s fresh, and the price is right. See that picture above? I took that at the Ann Arbor Farmer’s Market and all I wanted to do was get on that vendor table and start rolling around. But I digress…. I was flipping through some handy books of cooking, and came across a recipe that not only utilized my favorite speary Spring vegetable, but also was heavy handed with my favorite herb: Dill (…I feel a Dill post coming on soon…)

{ Green Goddess Dressing with Chicken and Asparagus – Simply Organic by Jesse Ziff Cool }

PlatterClose

Here’s the jist: Take some asparagus and blanche it for 2-3 minutes (I like mine with a little snap left in it), take some chicken (I opted for a grocery store rotisserie chicken, de-skinned and shredded), put them together to await saucing.

ChickenAsparagus

Take yer greens (parsley, dill, garlic, green onions) and whizz them around in a food processor

Herbs

ChoppedHerbs

Got some Basil or spinach or anything else fresh? Go ahead and toss it in. Everybody in the pool! Now add and mixture of sour cream/buttermilk/yogurt and some salt and pepper. Give it another whizzing.

CreamyDress

Now coat those your Chicken and Asparagus, and serve over some chopped greens (for me: Red leaf lettuce).

PlatterSide

Since there is raw garlic and raw green onion in the dressing get ready for a blast of fire with your first (and subsequent) bites. Oh boy, just delightful. The perfect fresh, Springy, filling-yet-light meal I could have hoped for.

While I won’t post the exact recipe here, I found a recipe adapted from the original here.

Platter

Happy Asparagusing!

 

Leave a Reply

ful-filled

real food - true health - full life

Tiny Portal

Awkwardly walking through life's little doors

Things that we like

Beer. Sports. Food.

Modern Day Forager

All Roads Lead to Food

Reading Runner Girl

Reading. Running. & Other Things.

Aerogramme Writers' Studio

Books and Writing I News and Resources

The Tomato Tart

But check your lease, man. Because you're living in Flavor Country.

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

