Raw Vegan “Lasagna”

7 May

Please don’t revoke my meat and cheese card.

So I came across This Rawsome Vegan Life and…well, just click over there and check it out. See what I mean? It’s amazing. I was feeling inspired and thought “what the hell, let’s go raw tonight” and raw we did.

{ Raw Lasagna with Cashew Cheese and Broccoli Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto – This Rawsome Vegan Life }

RollsThe pictures she has are amazing, and look so fun to eat, and I had most of the ingredients already, so how perfect of a no-brainer was this (I even had lots of snacks on hand…just in case…)

There are 3 components to this dish: Cashew “cheese”, Broccoli Sun-Dried Tomato “pesto”, and zucchini “noodles”. I feel as though if I were reciting this post my fingers would cramp up from the amount of air quotes I’d have to perform.

CheeseIngredientsThis is what goes into the “cheese”. See what I mean? There is nothing remotely cheese-like with these ingredients (not to say they’re not tasty), hence the “s. What’s pretty awesome about this recipe is the way in which she just gives general (even vague) information about the steps (add some of this…add more if you want more, blend it all together). I love it.

For the “cheese”, simply blitz together lemon juice, garlic, rosemary, cashews, water,  and nutritional yeast together until you get a paste

CheeseBlendCheeseI didn’t add enough water to mine so it turned out as a spicy-garlicky-cashew nut butter, and less of a spreadable “cheese” (really tasty though)

The “pesto” is a mixture of broccoli, sun-dried tomatoes (wait a second…isn’t that considered heating?), olive oil, and herbs (I used basil)

PestoBlend

PestoAnd then it’s a simple cutting of the zucchini into thin strips of lasagna “noodles” and giving them a nice layer with the fillings

AssemblyI didn’t use a mandolin for cutting, so my noodles are a lit-tle bit too thick for easy rolling. It was a struggle to put these together

Rolls2I knew they’d be a fall-apart mess to eat, so I dis-assembled them (is that a word?) and cut the “noodles” into “spaghetti” (ow my quoting fingers)

ZucNoodlesAnd then re-assembled them to a delightful non-fall-apart-into-your-lap-on-your-freshly-washed-pants dish

Noodles

This was definitely something different…but really tasty! I would NEVER be able to come up with something like this on my own. I thought “hey, this cashew ‘cheese’ would probably spread better if I warmed it up” before realizing that defeats the purpose of the raw essence of this dish. So no warming of the “cheese” for me.

Raw Lasagna with Cashew Cheese and Broccoli Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto – This Rawsome Vegan Life }

Lasagna Noodles

  • 1 zucchini

Slice the zucchini on a mandolin. Or very thinly with a sharp knife. Set aside.

Cashew Cheese

  • 2/3 cup cashews
  • 2 peeled garlic cloves
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1-2 teaspoons dried rosemary
  • 2-3 tablespoons nutritional yeast (optional)
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Water, as needed

Blend all ingredients in your food processor or blender until smooth and thick, adding as little water as possible. Set aside.

Sun-dried tomato and broccoli pesto

  • 1/2 head of broccoli
  • 2 tablespoons sun dried tomatoes
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil (only if your sun-dried tomatoes aren’t already stored in oil)
  • Salt, pepper and dried herbs, to taste
  • Water, as needed

Blend all ingredients in your food processor or blender until smooth and thick, adding as little water as possible.

Layer the noodles with the pesto, cheese and whatever you else you like, alternating as you go.

3 Responses to “Raw Vegan “Lasagna””

  1. thefoodandwinehedonist May 7, 2013 at 6:36 pm #

    Looks nice, but a little too vegetable-y for me. Was it fulfilling? In the “didn’t have to hit Mickey D’s” sense. Not the life affirming sense…

    • Now Entering Flavor Country May 8, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

      It was tasty, and it initially filled me up. However I did make it a point to have a larger than normal dessert (my body is not fine tuned to the raw lifestyle)

Leave a Reply

ful-filled

real food - true health - full life

Tiny Portal

Awkwardly walking through life's little doors

Things that we like

Beer. Sports. Food.

Modern Day Forager

All Roads Lead to Food

Reading Runner Girl

Reading. Running. & Other Things.

Aerogramme Writers' Studio

Books and Writing | News and Resources

The Tomato Tart

But check your lease, man. Because you're living in Flavor Country.

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

