Local Celebrity

22 Mar

 
OneDo you see that? It’s Bacon and Pea Shoot Soup [drool]

It’s a special soup I made from ingredients from the Ann Arbor Farmer’s Market….FOR the Ann Arbor Farmer’s Market Blog. You can find the article here.

The story behind the recipe: I went to the market a week in advance to scope out the produce to create a fun recipe (I did this at the tail end of a morning run, equipped with a credit card shoved in my running pants butt-pocket). I saw lots of greens, root vegetables, and sausages, so I thought “veggie-heavy cassoulet, BOOM, Erica, you’ve done it again”. Once I was done browsing I stopped at Durham’s Tracklements and Smokery for some smoked salmon, and jogged over to Zingerman’s Deli to grab some bagels (paying with my sweaty butt-credit card, mind you). Nothing says “cool” like jogging a half mile home in head to toe running gear and holding a bag of smoked fish. It made for a delightful breakfast for many days to come.

Bagel

However, when I made my way to the market the next week to assemble the dish, almost all the items I had seen the previous week were not there. Crestfallen. I was almost inconsolable until I saw the pea-shoots (which make a DELICIOUS, healthy, and expensive snack if you feel so inclined). After doing about 3 more awkward circles through the booths I came up with the recipe (which, again, you can find here)

 

2 Responses to “Local Celebrity”

  1. Jon Jefferson March 23, 2013 at 1:14 am #

    Sweaty butt credit card is incredibly dignified, you should feel proud. You’re coming up in the world.

  2. thefoodandwinehedonist March 23, 2013 at 2:48 pm #

    Very cool! I always hit up that same pea shoot stall…

Leave a Reply

ful-filled

real food - true health - full life

Tiny Portal

Awkwardly walking through life's little doors

Things that we like

Beer. Sports. Food.

Modern Day Forager

All Roads Lead to Food

Reading Runner Girl

Reading. Running. & Other Things.

Aerogramme Writers' Studio

Books and Writing I News and Resources

The Tomato Tart

But check your lease, man. Because you're living in Flavor Country.

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

