Beer’s The Word

15 Mar

I spent the majority of my morning and afternoon researching Michigan Craft Stouts/Porters/Irish Reds for a St Patrick’s blog piece for work (which you can view here) which made me think: Sweet Jesus I want a beer.

I’m normally a fan of the big, hoppy beers–(sidestory-I used to hate hops, just HATE them. I attribute that to someone buying me a Bell’s Two Hearted on my 21st birthday, and it was the last thing I drank before I started puking. Traumatizing. Coincidentally, Two Hearted has become my “go to” beer when I’m out because bars with the worst tap line ups full of watery mass-produced garbage will usually somehow have this, or at least feature it in bottles. When in doubt, Two Heart-it)–but after my hours-long trek behind the bar of the internet I’m in physical pain based on how badly I want a smooth and comforting stout. And soon that turned into just a hard wanting for a beer…ANY BEER.

Admittedly, I am one lucky gal living in Michigan, a state that is just lousy with great beer. Someone complimented me on my choice of a Sierra Nevada Pale Ale the other week while I was out, and it took every fiber of my being not to say “ehhhh yeah, this registers low on my spectrum, but, uh, thanks.” Not to say it’s a bad beer, but in the grand scheme of things it’s not a go-out-of-your-way-to-acknowledge-how-great-it-is kind of beer. I swear I’m not THAT big of a beer snob, I just want to make sure the right breweries are getting their acknowledgements.

There is so much rich history in beer. The pilgrims landed on Plymouth Rock because they ran out of beer, and therefore ran out of clean, drinkable liquid (true story). Monks brew beer (Trappist Ales) as their major monastery fundraising. Hops were originally used as a preservative to keep beer good on it’s long sea voyages from England to India (that’s how we got the India Pale Ale, or IPA). Erica once wrote a post about beer in her critically-acclaimed blog Now Entering Flavor Country (eh? eh?).

I’ve been fortunate enough to work on Kalamazoo Beer Week, be part of the planning for amazing Beer Dinners and Beer Events, attend various beer festivals throughout Michigan and even the Great American Beer Festival, have met many brewers of my favorite beers, and even have my own little “cellar” of fancy 750s and rare bottles. While I myself may not be a beer reviewer, I will take you on a trip down memory lane as I reminiscence about some recent beer travels and experiences from the past 2 or so years.

Bell's Eccentric Cafe in Kalamazoo, MI

Bell’s Eccentric Cafe in Kalamazoo, MI. Boy did I take for granted that this was a few miles from me while living there. Everytime I go back home, I make sure to stop here. I’ve been assured the abv listed for the beers on tap are accurate, but I always feel it 2x. Maybe it’s just my giddy quick-consumption?

Taking in the local color of National Bohemian Beer in Washington DC (I realize it's from Baltimore, but hey, potato-potato)

Taking in the local color of National Bohemian Beer in Washington DC (I realize it’s from Baltimore, but hey, potato-potato). I believe this night they were $1 along with $0.50 wings.

Cans of PBR...er-Rainer in Seattle (tip: don't make fun of this beer or the bartender will tell you to "go the fuck back to Michigan")

Cans of PBR…er-Rainer in Seattle (tip: don’t make fun of this beer or the bartender will tell you to “go the fuck back to Michigan”)

At Left Hand Brewery in Longmont, CO...clever eh?

At Left Hand Brewery in Longmont, CO…clever eh? This was our 3rd brewery stop for the day, so I’m SHOCKED the camera is this steady.

At New Belgium in Fort Collins, CO being an "IPA Ranger"

At New Belgium in Fort Collins, CO being an “IPA Ranger”. I was almost too short to reach my head into the face hole.

At the Great American Beer Festival on Denver, CO being...mature

At the Great American Beer Festival in Denver, CO during the Brewer’s Session being…mature

The most expensive beer I've ever purchased: $30 for this bottle of Russian River at Monk's Kettle in San Francisco, CA

The most expensive beer I’ve ever purchased at a bar: $30. Russian River Temptation at Monk’s Kettle in San Francisco, CA. Worth it.

Silverado Brewing Co (because we needed a break from wine for an hour) in Napa, CA

Silverado Brewing Co (because we needed a break from wine for an hour) in Napa, CA…I’m behind the camera, classy shot.

A fancy flight from Hair of the Dog Brewery in Portland, OR

A fancy flight from Hair of the Dog in Portland, OR

A recent gift package I got from a friend on the West coast...I still owe him a package of Michigan beers

A recent care package I got from a friend on the West coast…I still owe him a package of Michigan beers

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some clocks to stare at until I can quench my thirst. 

One Response to “Beer’s The Word”

  1. Jon Jefferson March 15, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

    You could just have taps in the office and make life easy.

Leave a Reply

ful-filled

real food - true health - full life

Tiny Portal

Awkwardly walking through life's little doors

Things that we like

Beer. Sports. Food.

Modern Day Forager

All Roads Lead to Food

Reading Runner Girl

Reading. Running. & Other Things.

Aerogramme Writers' Studio

Books and Writing | News and Resources

The Tomato Tart

But check your lease, man. Because you're living in Flavor Country.

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

