Lemon-Blueberry Pancakes with a Side of Procrastination

6 Feb

Last February I had a thought: Pancakes. I’m going to make pancakes for dinner. And you know what happened? A year went by, and no cake was prepared in my pan. I always had all the ingredients (I mean, who doesn’t), but when it came down to it, I was never back in the mood. I’ve never been an order-pancakes-for-brekafast-when-we-go-out because

  1. They always give you way too much
  2. I really like eggs
  3. And goat cheese with eggs
  4. I know how much all those ingredients cost, and no the $8 you want to charge me isn’t even close

So I never end up getting pancakes. Or French Toast for that matter. Now fast forward to present day. I’m going grocery shopping, and creating a rough menu in my head of the week’s meals, and you know what pops back in there? Pancakes! I decided to grab hold of this grain of wanting and see where it takes me. After perusing through my Food52 Cookbook I came across { Lemony Cream Cheese Pancakes with Blueberries } Well, my friends, it doesn’t get much better than that. Now, you may be asking yourself “why get the Food52 Cookbook when all the recipes are available online?” and that’s something I ask myself as well. However, I like to support the things I like in the most influential way I am able, and that is with my wallet. I get 10s, maybe even 100s of recipes from this site annually, all for free. I am happy to spend the one time fee of $20+ to purchase a wonderful, physical book full of photos, stories, tips, and most importantly, recipes. And if there is something I don’t see in there, I’ll just hop on their FREE site, and look for more. Remember, the internet has made many things accessible, easy, and free. Which is wonderful. But don’t forget to support these great people who are making it possible for you to finally become more than a mediocre chef. They need to make a living as well! Now let’s hope I don’t fall as I get off this soapbox.

Anyhoo, back to the delights of the pancake arts. I was intrigued by this recipe because the thought of blueberries made me think of Summer, and glancing outside at the disaster that is January in Michigan, any semblance of warmer days of yore were welcome. So frozen blueberries griddled into batter became my culinary escape.

Ingredients

I’m sorry, does that say cream cheese? You bet your ass it does! The recipe calls for 6 oz of cream cheese cut into little chunks (I only used about 4 oz since I happened to have that much left in a “lite” Trader Joe’s cream cheese container…note to self: don’t use “lite” cream cheese for anything that involves being cut up since it just mushes, and you have to pull small pieces apart with your hands and slosh them into the wet ingredients, which is the imagery you can to instill into your potential diners’ heads). Speaking of pulling cream cheese apart with your hands, did you know that it’s pretty time consuming since IT NEVER COMES OFF YOUR HANDS AND YOU HAVE IT FLING IT AROUND UNTIL YOU’RE FRUSTRATED AND 40% OF IT HAS LANDED EVERYWHERE BUT THE BOWL IT’S INTENDED FOR? At least it takes long enough for that melted butter you just poured into the COLD milk mixture to congeal (which you can see the beginning of in the “butter” photo). Crap. But going back to the cream cheese addition, if mixed as intended, it will yield small pockets of cream cheese creaminess/savoriness/dairy goodness intermingled with the lemon and blueberries. I was in. And don’t worry, the butter ended up being just fine, no need to FREAKOUT.

We have a panini press that also has smooth plates for “griddling” so bingo baango. Pancake time. These did take longer to cook than I thought, but I also haven’t made pancakes since I was of the age of making the “baby pancakes” out of the drips with my mom, so who asked me anyways. You ladle the mixture onto the griddle, and then sprinkle the blueberries on top. My hands were a nice shade of mauve at the end of breakfast.

Griddle

PancakesFinal1

Look at that glorious sunshine coming in to settle upon my cakes! They were even delicious with the $1 Meijer “Basics” Pancake Syrup that I had since I’ll be a son of a bitch if I’m spending $8 to get good Maple Syrup…I’ve made a huge mistake.

PancakesFinal

JohnHands

 

This recipe made so many, we ended up having like 6 leftover. I left them on the kitchen counter: big mistake. Throughout the rest of the day every time I wanted a snack, I just grabbed a pancake with my hand, and walked around eating it like an apple. A cream cheesy and summer blueberry calorie packed apple. We ended the day with none leftover, and by “we” I  mean I ate the rest: I ate them all! Thank god I run.

So anyways, I made these about 2 weeks ago, and I’ve had the photos edited for about 1.5 weeks of that time. Why haven’t I posted? You’re not my mother so get off my back! Actually, I’ve been trying to do other things than run in the dark and insane cold, or go to the gym and do the same routine I do every time I’m there, so I’ve done P90X, something called Cardio Karate (which after glancing at the mirror and seeing my sad attempt at a punch, I have to face the harsh reality that I’ll be no good getting someone’s “back” during a brawl), Hot Yoga for which I had a groupon for, and I carved myself out a new running route. Mixing it up makes working out FUN again, and now I have all sorts of strange parts that are sore. Changing it up, however, has caused me to get home at the end of the night and think “blog, nope” so I will again re-dedicate myself to the culinary and self-deprecating arts, and venture further into Flavor Country.

 

Lemony Cream Cheese Pancakes with Blueberries } From Food52:

  • 1 1/2cup flour
  • 1tablespoon sugar
  • 1tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2teaspoon baking soda
  • 1pinch salt
  • 2large eggs, separated
  • 1cup buttermilk
  • 6ounces cream cheese, cut up
  • 3teaspoons melted butter
  • 1teaspoon vanilla
  • 2tablespoons lemon juice
  • zest of one large lemon
  • 1 1/2cup fresh or frozen blueberries
  1. In a medium bowl, mix together flour, sugar baking powder, baking soda, salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together egg yolks, buttermilk. Add cream cheese and mix until cream cheese has separated into uniformly small lumps, about the size of large cottage cheese curds. Stir in melted butter, vanilla, lemon juice and lemon zest.
  2. Add dry ingredients to wet, then stir to combine. Whisk two egg whites until stiff but not dry; fold gently into batter.
  3. Heat a griddle or cast iron pan over medium high heat, until a drop of water sizzles. Lower heat to medium; butter or oil pan. Drop batter into pan by 1/3 cupfuls. Once the batter has spread, drop in the berries. You might want to drizzle some batter to cover them. These need to be cooked a bit longer than you might expect; they won’t bubble as quickly or as much as plain pancakes. Turn down the heat if necessary, to keep them from overbrowning, and let them puff up to their full extent after you turn them, which will take 2-3 minutes. Serve with honey or maple syrup or jam (editor’s note: or $1 Miejer Basics Pancake “Syrup”)

 

CakeStack

 

 

One Response to “Lemon-Blueberry Pancakes with a Side of Procrastination”

  1. eschof2 February 11, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

    I love this post… really funny and I love pancakes

Leave a Reply

ful-filled

real food - true health - full life

Tiny Portal

Awkwardly walking through life's little doors

Things that we like

Beer. Sports. Food.

Modern Day Forager

All Roads Lead to Food

Reading Runner Girl

Reading. Running. & Other Things.

Aerogramme Writers' Studio

Books and Writing | News and Resources

The Tomato Tart

But check your lease, man. Because you're living in Flavor Country.

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

