Yes We CAN

2 Oct

So I’ve taken the plunge. I just purchased a canning kit. It should be here in 5-8 business days (thank you Super Saver shipping, Amazon). I’ve been wanting dip my can into the boiling water that is home canning (bad canning joke, apologies). A few months ago during a cook cook shopping spree (I bought two), I purchased { The Preservation Kitchen: The Craft of Making and Cooking with Pickles, Preserves, and Aigre-doux } by Paul Virant.

It’s a hardcover. Fancy.

I’ve been leafing through this book for a few months now. With no canning equipment. Well seeing as it’s ending tomato season, and I like making homemade pasta sauce and salsa (side note: I made this AMAZING tomatillo salsa with some of my mother’s homegrown tomatillos the other day…I really should have made a post, it was great. I was shocked. But I didn’t think it would turn out so well and I couldn’t find the memory card for my camera SPOILER ALERT it was still in my computer) I should probably be bottling this red liquid gold for future use. And plus, that basically gives me awesome homemade stuff to hand out at Christmas (and Channukah) every year. “Wow, Erica is so talented and thoughtful. And also attractive. So attractive.”

So, I made a list of things I’d like to can in the upcoming months (or weeks, let’s see how much FREE time I will have…in comparison to my current 100%):

  • Salsa (verde-medium)
  • Pasta Sauce
  • Onion Jam
  • Pickled carrots (from book)
  • Dill Pickles (from book)
  • Tomato Jam (from book)
  • Red Wine-Pickled Beets (from book)
  • Peach Saffron Jam (from book, and because I have some Spanish Saffron)
  • Currant Mostarda (from book, if I can find fresh currants)
  • Sauerkraut (from book)
  • and more!

Yes, this is a tall order, but I’m excited! I have my jars and kit on their way, and I’m excited to see what happens! I just hope I don’t mess up the pressure and the glass ends up shattering, and wedging into major arteries in my arm, and I’m bleeding out in the kitchen, all the while my non-insurance is laughing at me…laughing at me all the way to the bank. But enough about blood, back to the culinary arts!

Until my jars (cans? why do we can it canning when it’s jars Jars JARS) come, I have a great list of fall-inspired dishes to play around with. Pumpkin and Sweet Potatoes and Squash, oh MY!

Leave a Reply

ful-filled

real food - true health - full life

Tiny Portal

Awkwardly walking through life's little doors

Things that we like

Beer. Sports. Food.

Modern Day Forager

All Roads Lead to Food

Reading Runner Girl

Reading. Running. & Other Things.

Aerogramme Writers' Studio

Books and Writing | News and Resources

The Tomato Tart

But check your lease, man. Because you're living in Flavor Country.

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

