World’s Greatest Vegetable* Lasagna

14 Sep

Hear ye! Hear ye! I have branched out and used a new site for a recipe!

I came across Green Kitchen Stories through pinterest a little over a month ago when I saw this tasty little treat { A “Healthier” Carrot Cake }. I made this about a week before I started this blog, and I may have to make it again because it was SO delicious! I will save my (many) comments and thoughts in case I do, indeed, decide to feature this recipe later. Which I will. I have just decided. It’s happening.

But back to today’s dish.

World’s Greatest Vegetable LasagnaGreen Kitchen Stories

Now I use an asterisk* in the title because, like the true carnivore that I am, I added some sausage to the mix. What isn’t better with sausage? Nothing, that’s what. Eggs? Add sausage. Pasta? Add sausage. Blueberry cobbler? Hey, why not, add sausage!

I do have some coming clean to do for this little diddy, unfortunately. I was heading to the Wednesday Farmer’s Market to get all my veggies before I headed to a grocery store to finish up the shopping for the week, and it was PACKED. I normally just walk, but decided to drive since I was headed to a store right after. I drove around for at least 15 minutes trying to find a parking spot, and got so frustrated…I…ended…up….just…buyingeverythingfrommeijer. I know! I’m a monster. While in the produce section at the store I wanted to apologize to everyone around me as I placed each non-local item into my cart. Eggplant embarrassment. Mushroom melancholy. Spinach shame. Corn condescendence. Jalapeño (bad) juju. And the list goes on. Sigh. But, life goes on, and I must hold my head up high, and remind myself that I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and dog gonnit, people like me.

On the bright side, I put more time into setting up some of these photos for your viewing pleasure! Woo-Hoo!

Now what was really great about this recipe is I basically made every component ahead of time, and then about an hour before I wanted to have dinner, I assembled said components (plus sausage), and ovened it up. I took the liberty of taking some photos of preparing the sauce. It calls for chili peppers, so I used chili powder and fresh jalapeños.

In case these foreign ingredients were too hard for you to pronounce. You’re welcome.

The background is…my cutting board. How cool? I was just testing out the lighting when I was taking these, and I just loved the texture and coloring so much I decided to use it. Obviously. Now, onto the sauce!

Tomatoes on the Vine. So pretty.
+ knife – vine = a slaughter

Now add them all together (with some olives and capers), and you turn yourself around, that’s what it’s al about.

The sauce looked a little watery to me, so after the hour of simmering I let it cook with the lid off for about 20 more minutes to reduce a bit. Was it right? Was it wrong? Who knows, but I very much enjoyed the results.

While assembling, I was on the top layer of cheese, very excited about being a mere 40 minutes from eating when I glanced over and noticed a bowl full of cooked sausage…not in the lasagna. Damnit. In my excitement I forgot to put the MEAT in! So I did what anyone would naturally do, I piled it sky high on top! Also, I had WAAY too many ingredients left over once the pan was full, so I made a second, smaller lasagna. That’s right. This yielded TWO lasagnas!

enney, meeny, miney, moe. I shall eat both of you, fo’sho.

Ooooh baby. This lasagna is SOOO good! The lemon in the ricotta, the olives in the sauce, the SAUSAGE, the basil throughout…wow. Delicious. I’ve never had great luck with lasagna…not that I’ve really tried many times,  but that’s besides the point…this is absolutely worth making. Easy, tasty, vegetable-y, and SO MANY PORTIONS! Who doesn’t like leftovers of lasagna? No one, that’s who. I’m on my second “leftover” day, and am just as jazzed as the first day. Unfortunately I’m down to my last portion, and am debating whether or not to be generous and let John have it. Probably not.

Why, is that a basil leaf in the photo? Erica, you have certainly outdone yourself, sir.

 

Leave a Reply

ful-filled

real food - true health - full life

Tiny Portal

Awkwardly walking through life's little doors

Things that we like

Beer. Sports. Food.

Modern Day Forager

All Roads Lead to Food

Reading Runner Girl

Reading. Running. & Other Things.

Aerogramme Writers' Studio

Books and Writing I News and Resources

The Tomato Tart

But check your lease, man. Because you're living in Flavor Country.

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

