Dilled Crunchy Sweetcorn Salad with Buttermilk Dressing

12 Sep

Wow, what a busy weekend/week-ish (every day is a weekend for me now). I experienced my first U of M home football game (yowza), ended up taking a trip back to Kalamazoo to do some consulting, “sampled” some tasty beers (I think we all know what that means), and got to see a friend who moved to Denver last year. Needless to say–considering I made this last Thursday today is the following Wednesday–I’m a little behind!

Dilled Crunchy Sweetcorn Salad with Buttermilk Dressing

This is from (drumroll please) Food52.com, and no need for an intervention, I’m already planning the next meal from another source (just to spread the love, of course). But, again, if you haven’t checked out their site WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU? I was drawn to this recipe because of the utilization of fresh veggies, and I’ve literally begun to feel guilty if I’m not using the Farmer’s Market to it’s full potential since tis the season. Plus, who doesn’t love fresh corn?!

Apprehension time: buttermilk. Why why why do they only sell buttermilk in LARGE quantities at the store when you always need about 1/4 C. I always tell myself “well, Erica, now that you have all this buttermilk, you better use all of it!” and I’m motivated, and think about all the awesome baked goods and whatnot I can make since I have this one ingredient. And then three weeks goes by, and it’s time to clean out the fridge, I think “well, there goes $2.50” as I toss the 93% full carton away. Why do I always have this problem with dairy??

Well well well, I learned an amazing trick, which I am probably too excited about. Create a substitute buttermilk with normal milk. What? Yes! Need a cup of buttermilk? Take a cup of normal milk, add 1 tablespoon of vinegar, let sit for 10 minutes. Boom, you’ve been butter milked. I know right? So easy. And I’ve used this technique a few times in the past couple weeks, and each time I get lazier and lazier with the measurements. The first time I carefully measured exactly one tablespoon into the milk, and then set a timer for 10 minutes, I left it for maybe 45 extra seconds, and I was sure I had ruined it. At this point I just give the vinegar a good “glurp” into the milk, and just leave it until I need it in the recipe.

But enough about the buttermilk. Are you sick of hearing about buttermilk, because I’m sick of saying buttermilk. It’s’a corn-time. This recipe is so simple. Cut up everything, make the dressing, mix. Attach to vein. Zone out in corn-y goodness. My changes: add tomatoes and avocado, omit feta because SOMEONE (points at self) forgot to buy it.

Hob nobbin and corn cobbin

Oh but wait! I of course made 2 mistakes. I mistook an oddly shaped red onion at the market for a shallot, and so combined with the onion in the dressing (which I’m pretty sure I added too much of) made for a potent salad. Good thing I like onions.

Avocado, Dill, Cherry Tomato, Corn, Red Pepper, Cucumber, Red Onion (NOT Shallot)

The second mistake: I did not properly assemble the dressing. I wasn’t even thinking and added the olive oil first, instead of slowly whizzing it in last to make sure it amalgamated (amalgamate=to mix to form a combination, think of mayo, it’s egg yolks and olive oil. If you just added them together and mixed the oil would keep separating. When you slowly whisk the olive oil in the two bind together to create that white creamy goodness). I actually put the olive oil in the bowl first, then added everything else, and then looked at the recipe and went “AWWWWWWWWW MANNNNNNN” before stirring. It didn’t end up being a big deal, there were little oil spots throughout the dressing, but once I mixed it with the veggies, no one could tell. Or at least everyone lied to me…and I’m alright with that.

i can never take a good “after” photo because as soon as food is ready, it needs to be inside me immediately. ’tis a blessing and a curse.

Leave a Reply

ful-filled

real food - true health - full life

Tiny Portal

Awkwardly walking through life's little doors

Things that we like

Beer. Sports. Food.

Modern Day Forager

All Roads Lead to Food

Reading Runner Girl

Reading. Running. & Other Things.

Aerogramme Writers' Studio

Books and Writing I News and Resources

The Tomato Tart

But check your lease, man. Because you're living in Flavor Country.

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

