A Feast of Berries and Nice: Pt 2

13 Jun

And our Strawberry extravaganza continues…

Final1

You know what my big dilemma is when it comes to Summer? The Farmer’s Market is brimming with all sorts of tasty delights, and it’s literally a 10 minute walk from my house. However, this is also the time where there are about 10,000 fun and exciting things to do every weekend, and many of them involve me traveling (weddings, festivals, concerts, lakes, beer excursions, etc) over the weekend. Needless to say, I’m having Farmer’s Market guilt since I haven’t been able to take much advantage of the bounty held mere blocks from my house. However, I was still able to pair this with my delightful produce-packed meal last week (and it even coincided with the Red Wedding during Game of Thrones, who could have matched that up so perfectly??).

So, without further ado, I present to you the second Strawberry-inspired post this month:

Strawberry Jam Biscuits - Yvette Van Boven }

You know what stresses me out about that title? Biscuits. Fellow blogger The Food and Wine Hedonist recently posted about why baking is a lot more stress-inducing than cooking, and I couldn’t agree more. Any time I’ve made scones on here I feel like I go into an hour-long rant about over-mixing and blah blah blah, but you know what? Over-mixing and blah blah blah! You know what’s worse than throwing away something you’ve spent minutes (and possibly hours) creating? Remembering that you also spent money on all the ingredients. Yes, baking ingredients are traditionally relatively cheap (flour, sugar, baking powder/soda, salt, water), but remember, I’m the type of gal that will stop mid-run to pick up pennies. And when I don’t have a pocket in my shorts, I’ll carry that red cent all the way home, and triumphantly announce said money to anyone in the near vicinity.

Sidenote: one time at a movie theatre John, my sister Jessica and I were waiting in line to get tickets. Jessica and I both locked eyes on a nickel that was on the ground about 2 feet away from us and started a mad dash to be the first to pick it up. Before either of us could get our grubby fingers on it, John took a casual side step to conceal the five cent piece under his foot. He then gave us a “are you seriously competing for a nickel” glare. He just doesn’t get it. But suddenly something happened, the ticket counter person was calling “next in line” which was us. What to do. We each paused for an uncomfortably long time, hoping John would remove his shoe from our monetary prize before we could purchase our tickets. Alas, he firmly stood his ground, and we had to make the heroic decision to go purchase our tickets to continue the flow of movie traffic. That was 3 years ago. I still often think about what could have been… So yes, I’m cheap, that’s what I’m getting at.

With the weight of messing up these biscuits on the shoulders, I decided to embark on this project, just to prove to myself I could do it. I started with the non-baking portion first: home made jam.

Jamm

 

Well, I’m never buying jam again, this is so easy, tasty, and idiot proof, it’s crazy. You take strawberries and sugar, cook them for about 12 minutes, then stir in some lime zest and lime juice. Boom, you’ve been jammed. I decided to add some blueberries to the mix since I had them and I like questioning authority, man.

While letting your jam cool, take a deep breath and start your biscuits. CAREFULLY mix/sift your dry ingredients together (flour, sugar, baking powder, salt) and then add some lime zest and PRECISELY cut chilled butter cubes

ButterLime

 

Here’s the tricky part: use your fingertips to mix the butter into the dry ingredients, but DON’T over mix it. It needs to be like a coarse, sandy texture. Don’t stress out though, I mean, it’s not like if you over-mix it you can’t go back and fix it…oh wait.

BiscuitMix

There’s something kind of vulgar about that .gif isn’t there?

Now add your buttermilk, and mix with a fork until the dough resembles something “shaggy” looking

Dought

Oh my god, that doesn’t look shaggy. What have I done!? Now the fun part (if you haven’t had a panic attack yet): roll out GENTLY and cut your biscuit circles with an inverted glass

GlassCut

 

Put your little deflated circles on a baking sheet, give them a good thumbing in the middle and a heavy-handed sprinkle of sugar. It’s Jam time.

Jamming

 

Don’t let the false hope fill you up while these are baking, because your home will smell AMAZING during the 18-22 minutes these are baking. Moment of truth time:

Biscuits

 

I don’t think it’s possible for me to have a shot without some type of beer in the background. Hmm.

So as you can see, they look DELIGHTFUL, however, not puffy and flaky like a biscuit should be. I hereby change the name of these to Strawberry Jam COOKIES, because these things are sweet, tasty, and very satisfying. Just not….biscuity.

Final

 

And I’m sorry about all the animated pictures. I’m one step away from 90s chic with the tail that forms on your cursor when you navigate around the site, or, you know, I could go with the classic toaster with wings…

 

Strawberry Jam Biscuits - Yvette Van Boven via Bon Appetit }

Strawberry Jam

  • 12 ounces fresh strawberries, hulled, halved or quartered if large (about 3 cups)
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon finely grated lime zest
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  1. Cook strawberries and sugar in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally, until jamlike in consistency, 12–15 minutes. Remove from heat; stir in lime zest and juice. Pour into a shallow bowl and let cool.

Biscuits

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour plus more
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1 teaspoon finely grated lime zest
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1 large egg, beaten to blend
  • 1 tablespoon raw sugar
  • Vanilla ice cream (for serving)
  1. Preheat oven to 400°. Whisk sugar, baking powder, salt, and 2 1/4 cups flour in a large bowl. Add butter and lime zest and blend with your fingertips until coarse crumbs form. Add buttermilk and, using a fork, mix until just combined. Transfer to a lightly floured surface. Gently knead just until a shaggy, moist dough forms, about 4 times.
  2. Roll out dough about 1/2-inch thick. Using a 2 1/2-inch biscuit cutter or inverted glass, cut out rounds. Gather scraps and repeat rolling and cutting until all dough is used.
  3. Place biscuits on a parchment-lined baking sheet. Using your thumb, make a large divot in the center of each biscuit; brush with egg and sprinkle liberally with raw sugar. Spoon a scant 1 teaspoon strawberry jam into each divot.
  4. Bake biscuits until golden brown, 18–22 minutes. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream, if using, and remaining jam.

 

 

 

6 Responses to “A Feast of Berries and Nice: Pt 2”

  1. the winegetter June 13, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

    I once made strawberry-banana jam with some vanilla. It was divine!!

  2. Mombo #5 June 13, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

    You are so much like me!!!!!!!!

  3. thefoodandwinehedonist June 15, 2013 at 4:35 am #

    Of course, I’m going to pick up on the non-food part of the post…. IT reminded me of when I used to work as an usher at a movie theater in high school. There were two senior citizens who worked there that spent most of their time looking around for coins. So one day we superglued a nickel to the floor. They spent an hour prying it free. It was hilarious for us until we saw plumber’s buttcrack. On Marge.

  4. teacherpatti June 15, 2013 at 4:05 pm #

    There is a stereotype that Jewish people will chase a quarter down the street. I embrace that stereotype and own it.

    I use the Brass Sisters Heirloom Cookbook for my biscuit recipe but these sound really good! They also told me to use my fingers for mixing in the butter and it does make a difference.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How Bloggers Cooked Bon Appetit's Many Recipes for Strawberries « Food Blok - July 5, 2013

    […] Now Entering Flavor Country: “Well, I’m never buying jam again, this is so easy, tasty, and idiot proof, it’s crazy…So as you can see, they look DELIGHTFUL, however, not puffy and flaky like a biscuit should be.” […]

  2. How Bloggers Cooked Bon Appetit's Many Recipes for Strawberries | Louisville Restaurants Blog - July 7, 2013

    […] Now Entering Flavor Country: “Well, I’m never buying jam again, this is so easy, tasty, and idiot proof, it’s crazy…So as you can see, they look DELIGHTFUL, however, not puffy and flaky like a biscuit should be.” […]

Leave a Reply

Things that we like

Beer. Sports. Music. Food. Tech. Humor.

Modern Day Forager

All Roads Lead to Food

Reading Runner Girl

Reading. Running. & Other Things.

Aerogramme Writers' Studio

Books and Writing I News and Resources

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. https://www.facebook.com/BunnyandPorkBelly https://twitter.com/BunnyNPorkBelly bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

Meg Goes Nom Nom

Nomming my way through Ann Arbor.

VisualSugar

Memory, persuasion and design. A presentation design blog by SlideRabbit.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

